



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

MAY 23, 2025

CHEVELDAYOFF, NILL AND ZITO VOTED FINALISTS FOR JIM GREGORY GENERAL MANAGER OF THE YEAR AWARD

NEW YORK (May 23, 2025) – **Kevin Cheveldayoff** of the Winnipeg Jets, **Jim Nill** of the Dallas Stars and **Bill Zito** of the Florida Panthers are the three finalists for the 2024-25 <u>Jim Gregory General</u> <u>Manager of the Year Award</u>, the National Hockey League announced today.

Voting for this award was conducted among the NHL general managers and a panel of League executives, print and broadcast media at the conclusion of the Second Round of the 2025 Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Following are the finalists for the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award, in alphabetical order:

Kevin Cheveldayoff, Winnipeg Jets

Under Cheveldayoff the Jets enjoyed the best regular season in franchise history (56-22-4, 116 points), capturing the Presidents' Trophy for the first time. His first offseason move to the club that finished fourth in the NHL overall standings in 2023-24 was the hiring of head coach **Scott Arniel**, who became the first bench boss in League history to win his first eight games with a club. The Jets became the first team in NHL history to win 15 of its first 16 contests of a season and completed the season allowing the fewest goals in the NHL, with Arniel voted a finalist for the Jack Adams Award as the NHL's top coach. To a successful core led by captain/C Adam Lowry, C Mark Scheifele, LW Kyle Connor, LW Nikolaj Ehlers, D Josh Morrissey and G Connor Hellebuyck - Cheveldayoff draft picks all - the Winnipeg GM added LW Brandon Tanev and D Luke Schenn at the trade deadline. Cheveldayoff is a Jim Gregory finalist for the second time after a second-place finish in 2017-18.

Jim Nill, Dallas Stars

Nill's Stars (50-26-6, 106 points) finished fifth in the NHL's overall standings during the regular season, marking the first time the franchise posted a top-five finish in consecutive seasons since the Presidents' Trophy-winning teams in 1997-98 and 1998-99. The club has advanced to the Conference Finals for the third consecutive season and fourth time in six years. Nill strengthened a perennially strong roster by adding C **Mikael Granlund** and D **Cody Ceci** from San Jose in early February and made headlines at the March 7 trade deadline with the acquisition of RW **Mikko Rantanen** from Carolina. Rantanen leads all playoff scorers with 9-11--20 in 14 GP, including <u>a historic third-period hat trick vs.</u> Colorado in Game 7 of the First Round. Nill, in his 12th season as Stars GM, is a Jim Gregory finalist for a record fifth time. Last season he joined **Lou Lamoriello** (2019-20 and 2020-21) as the only GM to capture the award in consecutive seasons, adding to third-place finishes in 2015-16 and 2019-20.

Bill Zito, Florida Panthers

Zito and the Panthers posted a 98-point regular season (47-31-4) and have advanced to the Eastern Conference Final for the third consecutive campaign in their bid for a third straight Stanley Cup Final appearance and a repeat of their championship season in 2023-24. Tasked with replacing several players from a Stanley Cup-winning roster, Zito made offseason free agent signings that included D **Nate Schmidt**, LW **A.J. Greer**, LW **Tomas Nosek** and C **Jesper Boqvist**. He further boosted the Panthers' title defense prior to the trade deadline by adding D **Seth Jones** and LW **Brad Marchand**, <u>who led all NHL scorers in the Second Round with 3-5--8 in 7 GP vs. Toronto</u>. Zito is a Jim Gregory finalist for the third consecutive season and for the fourth time overall, following third-place finishes in 2020-21, 2022-23 and 2023-24. He ranks second to Nill (five) for the most finalist berths since the award was introduced in 2009-10. He is the first to be voted a finalist in four of his first five seasons as an NHL GM.

NHL COMMUNICATIONS

1 MANHATTAN WEST, 395 NINTH AVE., NEW YORK, NY 10001 **T:** 212-789-2000 50 BAY ST., TORONTO, ON M5J 2X8 **T:** 416-359-7900 **MEDIA.NHL.COM • @PR_NHL**

History

The NHL General Manager of the Year Award first was presented in 2009-10. It was renamed in 2019-20 in honor of Jim Gregory, the 2007 Hockey Hall of Fame inductee who served as Toronto Maple Leafs general manager and a League executive for four decades.

(5/23/25)